Agenda: Workshop on Vehicle Noise Control, 1974

[Back to Past Meetings Page]

Transportation Research Board (TRB)
Committee on Transportation-Related Noise (A1F04)
Workshop on Vehicle Noise Control
December 10-11, 1974
Washington, D.C.

December 10 - Session I: General Background
Moderator: Dr. Stanley E. Dunn

8:30 a.m. Keynote Speaker Mr. Michael Lash, FHWA
9:30 a.m. Vehicle Noise Sources Mr. John Wesler, Office of Noise Abatement, (DOT)
Motor Vehicle Noise Suppression Possibilities Mr. Harry Close, Office of Noise Abatement, (DOT)
11:30 a.m. Lunch

Session II: Source Reduction Results
Moderator: Mr. Paul Milliman

12:45 p.m. Effect of Motor Vehicle Noise Reduction on Overall Highway Traffic Noise Dr. Ben Sharp, Wyle Laboratories
Timetable and Obstacles for Source Control Mr. Don Whitney, GM Technical Center, Dr. William Roper, EPA, Commissioner H. W. Posten, City of Chicago, Mr. Ralph K. Hillquist, Chairman, Vehicle Sound Level Committee (SAE), Mr. Warren Heath, California Highway Patrol

December 11 - Session III: How to Accomplish Source Control
Purpose: To identify and analyze the critical elements needed to accomplish an effective source control program
Moderator: Dr. William E. Roper

8:30 a.m. Interstate Motor Carrier Noise Control Enforcement from a Federal Prospective Mr. Henry Seiff, Bureau of Motor Carrier Safety (DOT)
Integration of Federal, State and Local Programs to Accomplish Noise Source Control Mr. Casey Caccavari, Office of Noise Abatement and Control, EPA
New Product Versus In-Use Motor Vehicle Source Control Strategies Dr. C. T. Molloy, Office of Noise Abatement and Control, EPA
Methods of Assessing the Effect of Source Control on Community Noise Levels Dr. Simone Yaniv, National Bureau of Standards (DOC)
11:30 a.m. Lunch

Session IV: State and Local Regulations
Moderator: Mr. Grant Anderson

12:45 p.m. Implementation of State and Local Motor Vehicle Noise Regulations Mr. Charles W. Dietrich, Bolt Beranek and Newman Inc.
State Program Experiences for Effective Highway Noise Source Control Mr. John Kunna, New Jersey Turnpike Authority
The Critical Decisions in Adoption of a State Noise Control Program - Case History Mr. Frederick Gottemoeller, Maryland Department of Transportation, Mr. Jesse Borthwick, Florida Department of Pollution Control
4:00 p.m. Concluding Remarks Mr. Michael Lash
4:30 p.m Adjournment